Millennium Development Goals

Targets for the Future

In 2000, governments from around the world made an agreement to work towards improving the status of health and welfare of people living in poverty. The governing bodies framed 8 distinct goals to be achieved by the year 2015. Each of these goals also has separate targets as well. The following is a list of the 8 Millennium Development Goals along with a summary of the target subdivisions: [1]

Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger

Targets focus on improving daily wage, eliminating hunger, decreasing the number of underweight children, and reducing the fraction of people below the minimum level of dietary energy consumption.

Achieve universal primary education

Targets focus on making sure that both boys and girls will be able to access primary school.

Promote gender equality and empower women

Targets focus on getting rid of gender inequality in all levels of education.

Reduce child mortality

Targets focus on reducing the mortality rate of children under the age of 5 years and improving access to immunizations for young children.

Improve maternal health

Targets focus on reducing maternal mortality and improving access to healthcare professionals for pregnant women.

Combat HIV/AIDS, Malaria, and other ID

Targets focus on reducing the mortality due to infectious diseases, improving preventive health education, and reversing the spread of ID overall.

Ensure environmental sustainability

Targets focus on preserving environmental resources and improving access to safe water and proper sanitation.

Develop a global partnership for development

Targets focus on working with the private sector to spread new technologies and dealing with debt and financial problems of poor countries.




Additional Resources:

On the finance of these projects:

Impact on children worlwide:

Report by the UN Foundation:

Leave a Comment